Gadhouse Vinyl Club: Burt Bacharach – Live In Japan (1971)

BURT BACHARACH Live In Japan (1971)

Continued from the prior article, the life of Burt Bacharach is too long to be told in one article as my mentioning with the previous one. Bacharach himself reputed as the hit-maker since he was a young man in 1960’s. As a composer, songwriter, record producer, pianist, and singer, Bacharach has written rather than a hundred of songs and hundreds of tunes, nevertheless He has only a few of his own albums forasmuch He wrote songs for other artists anyway he is not only the back stage supporter but he is also being a verily talented entertainer especially in the live show too.

Ladies and Gentlemen, The Burt Bacharach Live in Japan! The premiere of this album was released in Japan as the origin of where it was recorded on 7th May 1971 at Kōsei Nenkin Kaikan Hall or also known as Wel City Tokyo, was a concert hall in Shinjuku, Tokyo, one of a number of public concert halls in Japan, unfortunately the hall was closed down permanently in 2010.

This live concert is not a usual concert which Bacharach played along without his partners as Dionne Warwick or Dusty Springfield. Bacharach played by himself only! (And his chorus singers), if you ever heard Bacharach sang before I can honestly say that his voice is not that too melodic somehow untuneful despite his strict to his singers and band that have to play ideally similar to his personal character as a perfectionist. Anyway, unlike today’s singers whom full of skill of singing, intend to sing with high tactic of rhythm only doesn’t care much for the true meaning of the songs, Burt Bacharach rewarded full score of singing naturally into the true meaning of the songs moreover from his talent, this live concert he sang all of his own written songs which he wrote with his buddy Hal David thus he sings what he masters with.

The album combined with 14 tracks, all of them are familiar hit songs:

  1. Alfie / Do You Know The Way To San Jose
  2. Walk On By
  3. Come Touch The Sun
  4. Raindrops Keep Fallin’ On My Head
  5. The Look Of Love
  6. Medley
  7. This Guy’s In Love With You
  8. I’ll Never Fall In Love Again
  9. (They Long To Be) Close To You
  10. Bond Street
  11. A House Is Not A Home
  12. Alfie / What The World Needs Now Is Love
  13. Promises, Promises
  14. What The World Needs Now Is Love – Encore

The style of this album is classical Bacharach style, the combination between Jazz and Pop through Pop orchestra, which performed absolutely in the splendid time of Bacharach when his career was on top. It was his nifty years.

The distinctiveness of this live recording is the happiness of Bacharach’s world that he performed habitually from his soul with his own songs and the tidiness of Japanese audiences applauded only no screaming nor cheering like other countries.

Although Japan is not a country where people speak English fluently, the American pop culture plentifully influence in Japan since post world war II, this land of rising sun attracts various of top American artists to perform live concert at least once there, even Frank Sinatra had his uttermost and great live concert there in 1994 before he passed away a few years later. Plus in Japan, the recordings are recorded with master skills with the finest quality. They have an impact from foreign recording in their own domestic market. Listening to western music is considered as classy. The BURT BACHARACH Live in Japan (1971) is a rare album to find if you aspire to collect the original Vinyl version since 1970’s but lately the album was remastered into Compact Disc however it still arduous to be found , both of versions are worth to collect.

A six-time Grammy Award winner and three-time Academy Award winner. With the age almost 90 years old, Bacharach still actives with his beloved job. He still performs live concert occasionally. His autobiography, Anyone Who Had a Heart, was published in 2013.

Share the Post:

Related Posts